Volume 29, Issue 3
  • ISSN 0272-2690
  • E-ISSN: 1569-9889
Buy:$35.00 + Taxes


We can divide Esperanto literature into four historical periods. The first (1887–1920) was characterised by the important role of translations. The second period (1921–1945) was marked by the development of poetry and also, to some extent, of prose and drama. The third period (1946–1974), while beset with difficulties, continued the development started in the second period and made some new innovations, especially in poetry. The fourth period (since 1975) has so far been a period in which the novel and experimental poetry have flourished. Unlike the earlier periods, the fourth period is no longer dominated by a small group of authors and influential literary magazines: Esperanto literature is now more diverse and fragmented, leaving space for different schools and linguistic styles.


Article metrics loading...

Loading full text...

Full text loading...

This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was successful
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error