Writing Systems and Linguistic Structure
  • ISSN 1387-6732
  • E-ISSN: 1570-6001
Buy:$35.00 + Taxes


The Yi national minority of southwestern China has four distinct orthographic traditions: Nosu, Nasu, Nisu and Sani. All are based on traditional systems using the same logographic principle as Chinese writing and a few Chinese characters. Otherwise, they are very different, both from Chinese and to a lesser degree from each other. Since 1950, orthographic reform has taken place separately in the three main provinces where Ngwi or Yi languages are spoken. This process has been a top-down language planning effort, run by leaders and scholars from within the various Yi communities of each province. In addition, for local and scholarly purposes, the traditional scripts continue in use. This paper discusses and exemplifies the traditional and new orthographic systems and the process of reform which created three modern orthographies alongside the four traditional ones which also continue in limited use. The top-down process of script reform is parallel to other areas of script, language and other policy developments in China since 1950, with a centralised model that achieves some great successes and some failures, and going through a series of major changes affecting the way the languages of the Yi are written.


Article metrics loading...

Loading full text...

Full text loading...

  • Article Type: Research Article
Keyword(s): minority languages; orthography; reform; Romanisation; standardisation; Yi
This is a required field
Please enter a valid email address
Approval was successful
Invalid data
An Error Occurred
Approval was partially successful, following selected items could not be processed due to error